About the NZNMA  Join  Contact Us  Articles  Members  News & Events  In Memory Of





Latest News from the NZNMA

We held our AGM in June 2019 and these are the people who were elected onto the executive:  

Executive Board

President                  Joseph Sutich

Vice President         Dr Vesna Zdravkovic

Registrar                   Dr Jacques Imbeau 

Secretary/Treasurer  Leanne James

Executive Committee

Robyn Michael, Wendy Hamilton, Patrick Fahy


Our Next AGM will be held on Thursday the 25th June 2020, at 7pm.  Email the secretary for further details - leanne@nznma.com


Educational Seminars that may be of interest

 FXMED is excited to present

"A DEEP DIVE INTO ENDOMETRIOSIS AND PCOS", Presented by Hormone Expert Lara Briden

Who is Lara Briden BSC, ND.

Lara Briden qualified as a naturopathic doctor from the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine in 1997 and has been in full-time practice ever since. She’s a passionate communicator about women’s health and alternatives to hormonal birth control and lectures widely throughout Australia, New Zealand, and the US. Lara is also the author of the bestselling book Period Repair Manual, which is a manifesto of natural treatment for better hormones and better periods and provides practical solutions using nutrition, supplements, and natural hormones (book available from FxMed).

What will be covered?


In the first presentation, Lara will depart from the popular ‘estrogen dominance’ theory of endometriosis and will instead examine recent findings about the deep immune dysfunction that lies at the heart of the disease. In particular, she will explore the r ole of bacterial contamination and lipopolysaccharides (LPS) in the pathogenesis of endometriosis and will survey the effectiveness of natural immune-modulating treatments.

What you will learn.

  • The link between endometriosis and SIBO (small intestinal bacterial overgrowth).
  • Evidence based anti-inflammatory and immune-modulating treatments.



In the second presentation, Lara will explore why reliance on t he Rotterdam criteria to diagnose PCOS has led to overdiagnosis, overtreatment, and unnecessary distress for patients. She will invite you to look beyond the sometimes misleading diagnosis of PCOS and instead to look at your patient and the individual fac tors driving her anovulation and androgen excess.

What you will learn.

  • Why PCOS cannot be diagnosed by ultrasound.
  • How to distinguish between PCOS and hypothalamic amenorrhea.
  • Five functional ‘types’ of PCOS according to underlying driving factors with treatment strategies for each type.

Seminar Timetable

5:30pm: Arrival & Registration
6:00 – 7:15pm: Seminar
7:15 – 8:00pm: Dinner
8:00 – 9:15pm: Seminar
9:15 – 9:30pm: Q & A

Seminar Locations

Christchurch: Wednesday 21st August, venue TBA

Tauranga: Tuesday 10th September, venue TBA

Auckland: Wednesday 11th September, venue TBA

Seminar Cost

Earlybird price: $65 excl GST (ends 2nd August)

Practitioner Price: $75 excl GST

Student price: $55 excl GST

Note all prices exclude GST

Phone: 0800 439 633


To register for the Seminar

Email: marketing@fxmed.co.nz


Also, from FXMed

Balancing The Human Microbiome

 Presented by Microbiome Labs.

This seminar is about Common dysfunctions of the gut in chronic Illness and how to support them by balancing the microbiome.

"All chronic illnesses start or are perpetuated by a dysfunctional gut.  Effectively treating these conditions requires a clear understanding of the gut associated pathology driving the disease."

Presented in two parts, by

Kiran Krishnan, a Research Microbiologist who has been involved in the dietary supplement and nutrition market for the past 18 years. He comes from a strict research background having spent several years with hands-on R&D in the fields of molecular medicine and microbiology at the University of Iowa. Kiran is a co-founder and Chief Scientific Officer at Microbiome Labs and is a frequent lecturer on the Human Microbiome at Medical and Nutrition Conferences. Kiran offers his extensive knowledge and practical application of the latest science on the human microbiome as it relates to health and wellness.


Dr Tom Bayne, a Chiropractic Physician and public speaker dedicated to understanding and improving the gut microbiome. As the President of Microbiome Labs, Dr Bayne travels around the world educating healthcare practitioners on the science of the gut microbiome, its relation to chronic diseases, and innovative solutions to improve the health of patients.

Part One – The Research by Kiran Krishnan

A decade’s worth of microbiome research has elucidated these pathologies and a careful review of the literature reveals potentially effective treatments.  In this talk you will learn about the most common dysfunctions of the gut that drives most chronic illnesses we face. You will also learn about the most effective solutions to address these dysfunctions. You will learn how seemingly unrelated disorders can have the same etiology.


Part Two – Clinical Findings by Dr Tom Bayne

There are many gut-healing programs available to practitioners, but often those therapies are incomplete and ineffective. Healing the gut is a multifactorial process that requires several layers of therapy in order to achieve total gut restoration. Find out how you can use Microbiome Labs products to individualize treatment based upon patient history and symptoms.

Seminar Location and Time
Monday the 30th September 2019
The Rydges Hotel Christchurch
Registration 5.30pm
Seminar starts at 6pm

To register for the Seminar

Email: marketing@fxmed.co.nz

Or click on this link



About the NZNMA   Contact Details  Articles   Current Members  News & Events

NZNMA - PO Box 100038 - North Shore - Auckland 0745 - New Zealand
- info@nznma.com - www.nznma.com

Copyright © 1999-2019 NZNMA. All rights reserved.